Goodbye 2013! It’s been a blast!

I would have to say that 2013 has been my most favorite year!

Why?

Well, so many great things have happened this year. Many of them by chance, but most of them because I worked my ass off and made them happen.

At the beginning do this year I made a decision to change my life. I wanted to get back to running which is something that I had loved in the past. I never in a million years did I think I would run nine 5ks, a 2-miler, two 10ks, and a half-marathon! Thirteen races total from March to October. The only thing that stopped me from doing any more than that was finishing up my final weeks of nursing school.

And to top it all off I graduated Nursing school! The biggest goal of my life so far! I did it all while I worked midnights every weekend, took care of my son, AND ran 3-5 days a week with some weeks doing cross training as well. It was HARD, but so worth all the hard work.

Now on to 2014!

There is no doubt in my mind that this next year is going to be even better than the last. I’m going to start working as a RN (as soon as I pass that pesky NCLEX) and I’ve come up with a few goals. I’m going to declare them here because once I get them out, they become real and I have to complete them. This blog is how I keep myself accountable and on track!

Goals for 2014:

1. Run at least 1000 miles

2. Complete at least 4 Half-Marathons (I’ve already registered for 2 in April. I know I will do the Akron Half-Marathon for sure again in September and I’m sure I’ll find another one to do. Heck, I may end up doing more than 4, but that’s my goal)

3. I want to run a 5k in under 35 minutes (My most recent PR is 36:55, so this one might take some work, but I’m up for the challenge)

4. Complete at least 20 races this year (13 races from March-October was actually NOT hard to do and that was with working midnights EVERY SINGLE WEEKEND! Really the challenge wasn’t the time for me. The challenge was the COST! I was a very poor, single mom, nursing student. I had to save my money for races, but races were the only fun thing I did for myself I the past year since I didn’t have a very active social life. With my new job as a nurse I will have the benefit of getting every other weekend off as well as be able to afford to pay for more races)

5. I want to travel to do a race (It doesn’t have to be far, but I would love to be able to go somewhere not around here and do a half or 10k. Ultimately I want to do a Run Disney half-marathon. Fingers crossed I can accomplish that one this year if possible!)

There you have it! My big goals for this year. I don’t think there is one that I won’t be able to accomplish as long as I keep my head up and my heart in the game!

Happy New Year!

#runnersheart

-Jen

