The Busy Life of a Mom/Nursing Student/Runner

Wow…it’s been a long while since I’ve posted. Just because I haven’t posted in almost a month doesn’t mean I have been slacking on my training. I’ve been still chugging on full steam, with only a few minor set backs…

Since my last post, I finished up my summer semester of nursing school (woot! woot!)
After a nice long and leisurely 3 week semester break, I am back in school for my FINAL semester!! Graduation is only 103 days away and I am PUMPED! I am looking forward to the day when I can post on here that I have graduated, passed my NCLEX, and have become an RN. To be in my final semester feels amazing because for the first time I truly feel like I am a nurse and I know what I am doing.

During my wonderful 3 week break from school I was lucky enough to go on vacation with my son, my mom, and my niece. We went to Myrtle Beach, SC and had the most amazing time while we were there. I even got a 3.5 mile training run in along the coast. It was so awesome to see all the other runners that were out while I was there. It was truly inspiring. Life is truly better at the beach.
Here are some pictures from my run at the beach 🙂

20130831-013537.jpg

20130831-013513.jpg

20130831-013607.jpg

We been home from the beach for a few weeks (bummer) and have settled back in our regular routines of nursing school and work for me and first grade for my Tonio.

Here’s my handsome on his first day of first grade!

20130831-013856.jpg

20130831-013947.jpg

My half-marathon training is still in full swing. Last week my long run was 8 miles…a very slow, broken up 8 miles, but I don’t care. I did it and that’s all that matters.

20130831-014146.jpg

There’s only 28 days left to train before my first ever half-marathon. And to be quite honest, I’m terrified. I have to be able to complete it in under 3hrs and 30 minutes. Do I think I can do this? Well yes, I think I can do it. Do I think it’s going to be easy? Hecks no! Actually I only have to pace a 16 minute mile to do it and usually on my longer runs my pace is between 12:45 and 13:30. Which I am more than okay with at this point. I know I’ll probably be a little faster on race day because I’ll be all pumped up on adrenaline. Or at least I’m hoping. 😉

I’m super excited right now because I just registered in the Hall of Fame City Challenge 10k for next weekend. I’m excited to do another 10k before my half-marathon and especially this one because I know the route fairly well. The finish line is at the McKinley Monument, which where I run all the time. I am hoping to PR, but if I don’t that’s okay. I’m going to have fun trying!
#runnersheart
Happy Saturday!

-Jen