#runnersheart

Today I ran my very first 10k race!

20130804-002200.jpg

And of course my running buddy, Sarah, was with me to help keep me motivated! Here we are before the race.

20130804-003128.jpg

And after…

20130804-003158.jpg

20130804-003222.jpg

This race was a rough one. When we signed up, it described the course as an easy one with “rolling” hills…yeah they lied. The whole course was full of massive hills, that I definitely was NOT prepared for. #damnhills

I was doing pretty good up until I hit mile 4 and then my poor legs were toast. It was hard to run, but I tried my hardest. I kept going. My problem was my head…it kept telling me that my legs hurt too much to go on, but my heart kept telling me to keep going. I needed to finish strong. My goal time was 1hr and 20 min. I had run this far this past Monday and did it in 1hr and 19min, but that was on a completely flat course that I run all the time. I was familiar with that course and this one with all the hills was such a challenge.

I finished the race in 1hr and 20 min and 43 sec…not exactly what I wanted, but I am more than pleased with what I did because those #damnhills did force me to slow my pace and I finished only 43 seconds past my goal. I think that’s pretty damn good if I do say so myself.

20130804-015948.jpg

This was the last race I’ve got on the schedule until the Akron Half-Marathon at the end of September. Though, with the way Sarah and I’ve been signing up for all these last minute races, I’m sure I will be doing at least 2 more before then.

Tomorrow I’m hitting the gym for some strength training for my legs and some cardio.

Happy Sunday!

-Jen

Leave a Reply

