4.11 miles say what??

I love the way that I feel the day after a race. I feel like I can accomplish anything πŸ˜„

Yesterday I ran 4.11 miles. It took me 57 minutes and it was raining the whole time (which I loved), but I RAN 4.11 MILES!!!

Before I started I had a little chat with myself and told my self that I can’t train for a half-marathon trying to run all these miles that I’m not used to at my normal 11-12 minute pace. It just can’t be done. That’s why it’s called “training” and it’s my first half-marathon. I just need to be able to finish it. Not pace my normal time.

I just have to stop being so hard on myself because it messes with my head and causes me to have bad runs and then get mad and question why I am even trying to do this.

So that’s what I did today. I just ran. Didn’t even think about it and just ran at a slower pace. And do you know what happened? I had a freaking AMAZING run and I felt even more amazing afterwards.

Today, however, I am opting to take a complete rest day. I’m just swapping my Saturday run for my Sunday rest day because I have been awake about 28 hours straight and I know that if I were to go for a run now, it wouldn’t be a good one and I would feel discouraged and yada, yada, yadda…you know where that’s going.

Anyway, it’s time to go to bed for the day because I’m back in less than 12 hours.

Happy Saturday!
-Jen

Leave a Reply

