Independence Day!

Today was race day!

I ran in the North Canton YMCA annual 4th of July 2-mile race. They also have a 5-mile race, but I felt I wasn’t ready for that one and I wanted to see how fast I could finish the 2-mile.

I finished in 23:39 with a pace of 11:47!! When I ran this same race 2 years ago I finished it in 27 minutes so I made a HUGE improvement πŸ™‚

My son Tony also got in on the action and ran in the kids Firecracker Dash. He did so well, but was upset he didn’t finish first. This is something that I am struggling to teach him. That racing isn’t about winning, but the experience of the run and crossing the finish line. He seemed to understand more after I talked to him. Next year we are going to run the 2-mile race together πŸ™‚

My friend Sarah ran the 5-mile race in 59:11! She did amazing and I am so proud of her!

I’m feeling pretty great after my race today and I can’t wait till I can do another one.

Only 85 days till the Akron Half-Marathon!

Happy Independence Day!

-Jen

20130704-184708.jpg

20130704-184745.jpg

20130704-184814.jpg

20130704-184858.jpg

Leave a Reply

