Nursing School Problems…

Nursing school is ruining my blogging life…

Ha ha…no seriously though. I haven’t posted in YEARS! Okay, it’s been a little over a week and a half, but it feels like forever.

The past two weeks of school have just been brutally busy. More so than I think ever and I have also had a few family things thrown in the mix with it being summer and all.

Even though I haven’t been blogging about my half marathon training, I am at least still keeping up on it. I’ve been keeping up with the running, but I have to be honest that I’ve been slacking in the cross-training portion of my half training.

That’s all changing this weekend because it’s down to 13 weeks till the Akron Half-Marathon and next week is when I start increasing my mileage and adding longer runs at the end of the week. So far I’ve just been staying in the 2-3 mile range with the hopes of improving my pace a little bit.

I know that’s not the whole point of me doing this half-marathon. I just want to finish to say that I accomplished such a huge goal for myself, but I’ve got a 2-mile race coming up on July 4th. I ran this race 2 years ago and I finished it in 27 minutes and paced at 13:30. This was when I had just started running before and hadn’t been at it for very long and didn’t train very well for it.

Today, I ran 2 miles on the treadmill at my gym and I did it in 23:30 which is a 11:45 pace. My fastest mile so far is 11:25 (during my last 5k) and my average mile when training is around a 12:30. I know I am not that fast (#slowandsweaty). My goal for this 2 mile race is to run it in 23 minutes. I don’t normally set goals for my races. I usually just tell myself to have fun and hopefully you be a little faster than last time. I don’t know why this time is different. It just is.

After this race on July 4th, I don’t have another one scheduled till my half in September, but I’m hoping to get 2-3 more 5ks in there if my schedule allows.

Today, I had an appointment with my doctor. It was just a follow-up that I have with her every couple of months. At the beginning of this year I was really struggling between juggling nursing school, working midnights every weekend, and home life. I originally went to go see my doctor because my anxiety level was through the roof and I could not handle it anymore. It was affecting my school work and everything else for that matter.

After sitting and talking to my doctor for about twenty minutes, telling her about how horrible I was feeling all the time, she asked me the most bizarre question: “Were you ever diagnosed with ADD?” I laughed when she asked me. I would have never thought that I could ever possibly have ADD. Well, after her explaining it to me and having me answer a crap-ton of questions, she diagnosed me with ADD and is sure that I’ve probably had issues with it most of my life, but I had always been able to cope with it up to this point.

God Bless this woman for her diagnosis because since March, I’ve been taking medication to help me focus better in school and to give me more energy, which in turn has helped me out with other parts of my life. If it hadn’t been for her, I would have never started seriously running again. I would have never even thought I could possible run every day in May and I NEVER would have thought I could train for a half-marathon.

Since March, I have lost 20 lbs (!!!!) because I’ve been able to prioritize my life better to fit in time to workout even though I have the craziest schedule in the world between work, nursing school, and being a single mom. People ask me all the time how I am able to do it all and I always answer them: “I’m still trying to figure that one out myself. I just do it.”

I am in such a better place now than I was 6 months ago and if I had never gone to see my doctor then I don’t know how I would be feeling right now.

So that’s what has been going on since I haven’t been blogging the last week and a half. I’m going to try to post at least a little something everyday after I run or cross-train. I hope to keep up with it each day up till the big day of my first (of many) half-marathons

Happy Friday Everyone!

-Jen

20130628-201622.jpg

Leave a Reply

