Treadmills and Protein Shakes

So I joined a gym…

I wasn’t going to, but I was getting bored of the one that is free at the hospital where I work. It’s not a bad little gym, but I work and go to school at that hospital so I’m there everyday and I just need a break from that place. Also it’s not that big and there aren’t a ton of options.

So I joined a gym.

Yesterday was my first time there and I decided to give another go at running on a treadmill. I really wasn’t looking to use the gym for their treadmills (since I dislike running on them so much), but I needed to get at least a 2-miler in so I hopped one of the MANY treadmills next to a few other people who were running on them.

I was thinking that I was going to make a fool of myself and look like a complete idiot in the process. To make matters worse, there is a row of mirrors just across from where the treadmills are so I was going to get to see myself look completely ridiculous on the dang thing.

As soon as I hopped on, I almost hopped off, but I didn’t. I started with a brisk walk and then pumped up the speed to where I was running. I was able to keep my normal pace (about a 12:15-30 min/mile) and easily ran 2.5 miles with no trouble. It was a lot slower than the other runners around me, but I didn’t care.

I was RUNNING ON A TREADMILL!!!

Go me 🙂

20130611-123858.jpg

The last two days I’ve been tracking my intake of food and beverages with a free app called Calorie Counter by FatSecret. I’ve used it before (long ago) and it has the nutritional values for anything you can imagine from anywhere you can imagine. I had forgotten how awesome the app really was.

For the last 2 days I have only consumed <1600 calories a day! Thats including my 2 protein shakes (which are SUPER yummy by the way). And I had thought (up until recently) that I was eating like a pig. Guess not…so I was right when I said I wasn't eating enough to lose weight. Who would have thought? It's something I'm going to continue to work on and hopefully I will find a happy medium 🙂

Happy Tuesday Everyone!
-Jen

One thought on “Treadmills and Protein Shakes

  1. Andrea Tibaduiza says:

    I have found running and most workouts to be incredibly affected by the way we think. If we think we can’t do it, we are likely not to be able to do it. But if we push ourselves and believe that we will do it, we usually will! Good luck with your future workouts and healthy eating!

Leave a Reply

