Hitting Reset

I’m hitting reset!

The last few days have been pretty crazy busy for me. I was forced to take a few rest days from my half marathon training because I made the big mistake to pick up an extra midnight shift on Thursday this week.

My thinking when I said yes to working that night was that the extra money will help with my vacation to Myrtle Beach (in 63 days, but who’s counting? 😁). I normally only work Friday and Saturday night and I’m in my nursing classes during the week. Well, by me working Thursday night it totally threw my whole schedule (and body) out of whack. I had clinical and class from 7am to 3:30pm. Then had to pick my son up from school, go grocery shopping, make dinner and a few other things. I didn’t sleep more than a half hour before I went to work that night at 11pm. Friday I only slept 2 hours before I had to get up to do a few errands before my class. Then I had to be at work at 7pm.

Anyway, long story short, by the time I got off work this morning (still with every intention of going to run after work) I felt like I had been hit by a Mack truck and I just went home and collapsed in bed.

So when I woke up I decided that I’m hitting RESET on my training and start new tomorrow. I can’t let the last 3 days get me down and I need to move FORWARD in my training.

I’m working tonight and when I get off work tomorrow morning, it’s off to get my run in! I can’t wait πŸ™‚

MOVING ON!

I’m officially registered for the Akron Half Marathon! It’s real now and I’m not backing out. I will work hard and I will do this! It’s something that I really want to accomplish and I know that I can πŸ™‚

I’m currently in the process of getting my diet in order. My problem has been that I don’t eat enough and I’m not getting enough protein and energy and yadda, yadda, yadda…so to try and fix that I bought some protein powder to make shakes to drink. They don’t taste too bad and I really hope they help out.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

-Jen

4 thoughts on “Hitting Reset

  1. Mandy says:

    I have the same problem of not eating enough- a problem I would have never imagined having btw! I’ve resorted to protein bars and an extra snack during the day trying to keep up.

    • I’m glad I’m not alone! It is something that I definitely am trying to work on, but when you’re busy it’s so hard to remember if you’ve had enough protein for the day lol

      I guess just getting into a routine will help and I won’t have to think about it anymore and it will become second nature.

Leave a Reply

