Oh you know…just lifting some weights…Day 2 of #sweateverydayinJune

It was really weird for me to get off work this morning at 7:30am and NOT go run at the Monument like I have done every other weekend morning for the last month. I have to say though that I am glad that I did decide to make myself take a rest day with the running because my calves ached from that 5k race yesterday. I ran my a** off yesterday…

Oh this picture cracks me up...my face looks horrible because I'm concentrating on breathing through the humidity and I was saying a silent prayer for the photographer to NOT take my picture...no such luck...

Oh this picture cracks me up…my face looks horrible because I’m concentrating on breathing through the humidity and I was saying a silent prayer for the photographer to NOT take my picture…no such luck…

Starting Line to the race yesterday...Sarah and I are WAY in the back!

Starting Line to the race yesterday…Sarah and I are WAY in the back!

After work this morning I went to the gym at the hospital, where I’m employed and go to nursing school, and it is completely equipped with treadmills, elliptical, weight machines, and various other cardio machines. I was hoping that because it was a Sunday morning and it was still pretty early that no one would be down in the gym, but when I walked in there were three guys in there. One of the guys was lifting and the two were spotting him because it looked like it was lifting some heavy weights. And I must say, that the guy lifting looked completely ridiculous because he was trying to show of for his two friends. It wasn’t even like he was doing it to work out. It was more like he was playing, “my muscles are bigger than yours” which isn’t something that I find impressive.

Anyway! Moving on! I tried my best to ignore them as I was trying to decide what my plan of action was. I decided on just focusing on my upper body, since my lower body was covered in Biofreeze and was not very happy with me. I started out by stretching out my entire body, which felt so GOOD! I do stretch before I work out or run, but I have never really concentrated and done a really good stretch. Then I went around to the weight machines that focused on upper body. I have been doing my research on strength training for when you are training for a marathon and is more important to go with lower amount of weight and just doing more reps. So that’s what I did and I have to tell you that my body feels AMAZING! After I was done, I stretched again and then left “Macho Man” and his posse to continue with their little show. The whole workout only took me about 30 minutes, but I definitely burned some calories and I know that this is going to help me in the long run as I continue training for my half marathon in September!

My Batman shirt makes me feel strong ;)

My Batman shirt makes me feel strong πŸ˜‰

True Story ;)

True Story πŸ˜‰

Okay one last picture before I go!

The countdown is on!

The countdown is on!

Have a GREAT week!
-Jen

5 thoughts on “Oh you know…just lifting some weights…Day 2 of #sweateverydayinJune

  1. Mandy says:

    Ugh gym rats are the worst! I’m doing my first stretching and weights only workout in the morning (i.e. no cardio) in prep for my half in December and am kind of dreading it! Weights totally intimidate me. Glad to hear yours went well!!

    • Weights used to scare me till I learned a little bit about what I was doing with them. Now trust me, I’m no expert when it comes to them now, but I am more comfortable. The key to strength training (from what I read up on) during training for a half-marathon is that you don’t want to lift too much weight. It’s better to use a lighter weight and do more reps with them. You don’t want to over do it or you’ll end up hurting yourself in the long run…and I’ve learned that mistake a time or two. Don’t dread it, you’re going to be amazing and hopefully there won’t be too many gym rats hanging around when you go! Good luck!!

      • Mandy says:

        Ha ha thanks for the advice Jen! I’ll definitely try to remember not to try to lift too much. And luckily I go to the gym at 4:30 most mornings- a time when I think most gym rats are either still sleeping or already working on their 3rd protein shake of the day and standing at their blender lol.

Leave a Reply

