Girl on the Run

This morning after working a midnight shift at the hospital (I know, I’m not right in the head sometimes), I ran in the 2013 Girls on the Run 5k with my good friend Sarah. There were a ton of women and girls there to run/walk this event that they hold every year and it was kind of cool to see everyone out there. Today marks the first day of the #sweateverydayinJune challenge.

My last few runs this week had not been so great (they down right sucked in my opinion because I think I was so freaking tired) so I wasn’t sure that I was going to do so well and I mentally prepared myself for not getting my personal best. I was just looking at this as just another run and I was just going to do what I could to not pass out from the humidity.

I ended up doing much better than I thought I would ๐Ÿ™‚

I CRUSHED my last fastest mile by 35 seconds. Go me.

I CRUSHED my last fastest mile by 35 seconds. Go me.

I ended the race with a time of 39:03.3 and paced it at a 12:35 mile. That is pretty darn good for me and I’ll pat myself on the back for that one.

This race ended a 33 day running streak for me since I ran on April 30th and then had the bright idea to run every day in May (#runeverydayinMay). Tomorrow I will rest from running (it is going to be weird, but much needed), though I am still going to the gym to start doing some light weight/strength training, since I hear it is important to do if you are going to train for a half-marathon.

The best part about the 5k today was the fact that my little man was there along with my mom to cheer me on at the finish line. They were standing right at the end, yelling my name and as soon as I saw them, I picked up my speed so that I could have a strong finish. It felt great!

Sarah and I in our usual race day colors with my son, Antonio, just after finishing

Sarah and I in our usual race day colors with my son, Antonio, just after finishing

I’m not going to lie folks, I’m a little sore today after taking my nap (hey, I’m not lazy, I’ve got to work a 12 hour midnight shift tonight). Time to take a shower and roll-on the good ol’ Biofreeze and wait for my co-workers to make fun of me for smelling like an old man.

Happy June 1st Everyone!
-Jen

2 thoughts on “Girl on the Run

  1. Well done! Shift work is painful at times. I love your Garmin and I’m very tempted. Do you find it better than an app like the Nike run ing app to track distance and pace and also, does yours have a heart rate monitor?

  2. I am in love with my Garmin and highly recommend it to anyone who runs. It is more accurate than the Nike app (in my opinion) and it saves my phone’s battery life because it’s not using the GPS function. The Garmin I have (which is the Forerunner 10) does not have the heart rate monitor on it, but that isn’t something I felt I needed when I was shopping for these. The Garmins that do check your heart rate are much more expensive and I’m okay without it.

Leave a Reply

